Conferences

Conferences are a particular problem for me, because of the increased importance of public restrooms during conferences. I am more afraid to use a public restroom during a conference than I am normally, because the people I could offend while using the restroom are more likely to be important to my career than those I encounter in other public restrooms. So far, the worst that has happened in a conference restroom has been a prolonged stare from someone, but I continue to restrict my use of conference restrooms out of fear. Furthermore, as a poor graduate student, I often do not stay in the official conference hotel, choosing cheaper accommodation further away. This means that I do not have the opportunity of retreating to my hotel room for a quick restroom break.

